Confederate States of America Formed

Monday, February 4, 1861

A brass medallion displaying the seal of the Confederate States of America. Courtesy of the Library of Congress.

The Confederate States of America, an independent (but internationally unrecognized) nation, is formed by the six seceded Southern states. Although it soon expands to encompass 11 states, the Confederacy fails to win independence in a brutal Civil War with the Northern and border states. The Confederate government finally dissolves on May 5, 1865.

Open Timeline